[PD-dev] [OT] spambots that deliver compliments?

Hans-Christoph Steiner hans at at.or.at
Fri Apr 6 03:00:13 CEST 2012

I think those are usually SEO (Search Engine Optimization) bots that go around posting innocuous comments with a link to the thing they want to promote.  In other words, spam.

I still think we should turn on the requirement to log into sourceforge before posting to the trackers.  It'll prevent that kind of spam.


On Apr 4, 2012, at 11:44 PM, Jim Hickcox wrote:

> I'm sad it's not the first assumption.
> I would be really interested in a robot crawling around complimenting people.
> If only I knew how to make one...
> 2012/4/3 Charles Henry <czhenry at gmail.com>:
>> On 4/3/12, András Murányi <muranyia at gmail.com> wrote:
>>> Maybe it tries to inject javascript for xss
>>> (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross-site_scripting) or php or mysql to
>>> be eventually executed on the server? Or we're just being malicious ;)
>>> András
>> LOL--I get it now.  Probably, sourceforge has some intelligence (more
>> than me) to strip out script tags.  When I view the page source,
>> there's no additional text.  So, that seems likely--as long as the
>> motivation is to hack websites.
>> Thanks for the explanation.
>> _______________________________________________
>> Pd-dev mailing list
>> Pd-dev at iem.at
>> http://lists.puredata.info/listinfo/pd-dev
> _______________________________________________
> Pd-dev mailing list
> Pd-dev at iem.at
> http://lists.puredata.info/listinfo/pd-dev


I hate it when they say, "He gave his life for his country."  Nobody gives their life for anything.  We steal the lives of these kids.  -Admiral Gene LeRocque

More information about the Pd-dev mailing list