[PD] PD WIKKI defaced [thanks for backups!]

Mathieu Bouchard matju at sympatico.ca
Fri Dec 31 18:34:09 CET 2004

On Fri, 31 Dec 2004, derek holzer wrote:

> Taking a look, I can see that almost every day for at least a week now, 
> each page of the WIKKI gets overwritten with a new mess of Chinese URLs. 
> Kind of pointless to rebuild anything until this gets resolved...

Some time before I heard anything about defaced wikis, I've seen that
Chinese spam on a completely unrelated wiki, which used to be at
http://www.ntecs.de/wiki/euruko2004/show/HomePage/ and I don't know what
happened to it... Possibly it was shut down because of spam excess and
that they are thinking about solving the spam problem now...

However, the only other wikis I recall visiting (and a LOT) are the C2.com
wiki and the Wikipedia, which are the two biggest wikis I know, were never
affected by any such problem, as far as I remember.

The software used by Wikipedia is called Mediawiki

The software used by C2.com's is... I don't quite know what it's called...
They started the site under the name "WikiWikiWeb" way before "wiki"
became a noun, for the very good reason that, for a while, it was the only
wiki in existence (in 1998 there was already loads of stuff on it). I
remember it said that the software is written in Smalltalk, so I guess its
availability depends on the availability of a compatible Smalltalk
interpreter/compiler. This would deserve some research, especially wrt: is
it secure nowadays, or are they just being lucky...

A third wiki I have used extensively (but not much in the last years) is
http://rubygarden.org/ruby ... I hadn't visited it for a while, and now I
notice that they have a page "PreventingWikiSpam" as the first link on the
first page. Maybe we'd like to read it.

I don't know which software the RubyGarden uses, but have a look at:
That's a lot of Wiki clones!


PS: I don't know whether I posted this one before, but this is a photo of
when I showed PureData at the Europäische Ruby Konferenz 2004 (aka: euruko
2004) held in München last October.


I originally stumbled upon that chinese spam a few months ago, while
trying to update the pages about the Konferenz, on the closed-down wiki
mentioned above. Grrr.

Mathieu Bouchard -=- Montréal QC Canada -=- http://artengine.ca/matju

More information about the Pd-list mailing list